News Cover

Sarfaraz Ahmed set to be demoted in PCB’s new central contracts listing

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has determined to demote their 2017 Champions Trophy successful captain, Sarfaraz Ahmed from class A’ to C’ within the new central contracts, to be given to the gamers in August.

According to particulars, the Board has additionally determined in opposition to decreasing the central contract retainers or match charges for the gamers regardless of the coronavirus pandemic suspending all cricket actions all over the world.

The PCB final yr in August had awarded central contracts to solely 19 gamers, omitting seniors like Muhammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik from the listing.

The variety of contracted gamers had been decreased from 32 to 19 as per a coverage choice of the Board.

Sarfaraz was stored in class A with Babar Azam and Yasir Shah as at the moment he was captain in all three codecs.

But in November, the selectors, not solely dropped wicketkeeper-batsman, Sarfaraz as captain but additionally as participant from all three codecs.

“Sarfaraz has been demoted to category C in the new contracts as he is presently not a member of the playing side,” a PCB supply mentioned.

The new listing of contracted gamers is being finalised by a committee that features PCB CEO, Wasim Khan, Director International Cricket Operations, Zakir Khan and the pinnacle coach and chief selector, Misbah-ul-Haq.

In the final central contracts the Board had elevated the retainers by round 25 to 40 % and this time the supply mentioned the PCB committee is considering growing the Test match charge regardless of the monetary crunch caused by the coronavirus pandemic and lockdowns the world over.

In the prevailing contracts the Test match charges is Rs 762,300 for Category A gamers, Rs 665,280 for Category B and Rs 568,260 for Category C gamers.

The supply mentioned Abid Ali is more likely to be promoted to Category B with fellow Test opener, Shan Masood whereas Hasan Ali may lose his contract.

The gamers who’re presently centrally contracted embody:

Category A: Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah.

Category B: Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz.

Category C: Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Aamir, Abid Ali, Muhammad Rizwan, Hasan Ali, Usman Shinari and Imad Wasim.

Get real-time alerts and all of the information in your cellphone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Related posts

Leave a Comment